Derrick's Picks
9780593534502

Loved it! Paul Newman is one of my favorite actors and to read about not only his life, but how he relates to things and why he chose acting was phenomenal.

9780062856845

This book is NUTS and I loved every minute of it!!! I will drop everything I am doing to read Pinborough! I am obsessed!

9781982153960

Jennifer does a great job in her new novel, which is a semi retelling of the classic Frankenstein! That's all I'll say, don't want to spoil anything!

9780778312024

Loved this heart warming book by the author of The Honey Bus! A dog that is LITERALLY afraid of everything taught me how to be brave myself and not to rush anything!

9780593328330

Alma does it again in her new horror book! This one is centered around a suspicious disease and the Japanese internment camps! Read if you dare!!

9781728242590

What can I say about the sequel to The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek?! It was fantastic. I didn't want this lovely book to end. I was swept back to the coal mining towns and reading it was like seeing a dear, old friend you haven't seen in a long time. I read the whole book with a smile on my face because I enjoyed reading it so much. Although, there were times I wanted to throw the book because of certain characters.

9781250819345

Wow, wow, wow!! What a thrill ride this was! I didn't see the ending coming at all! Psychological thriller at its best! Jason is my new favorite author!!

9781250793393

What an awesome read! Finished in two days. I couldn't wait to find out the ending and just when I thought I knew what was going on, nope Kimi twisted it! Loved it!

9780778311553

What a whirl wind of a book! I couldn't put this one down. You can't trust anyone in this psychological thriller!!

9781728232744

What a great read! For fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, Book Woman of Troublesome Creek and Girls in the Stilt House will love this book about two sisters and their family!

9781250796714

I loved this book! I can't wait to read the rest of the series when it comes out. A corpse sniffing dog, a mystery, what else could you ask for! Fantastic!

9781524744724

What a roller coaster of a book. Part horror, part thriller. I couldn't put this one down. Creepy and disturbing yet redeeming and forgiving. What a debut!!

9781250304452

What a fantastic sophomore novel by Alex! I read this in two sittings! It was great! That is all I am going to say because I don't want to spoil any of the fun!!

9781982177881

What a fast paced thrill ride! Like the movie Speed but in the air! I couldn't put this one down and can't wait to sell it to our customers!

9780062971098

I loved this middle school novel by one of the greatest basketball players of all time, Lebron James! Read this in one sitting! Can't wait to see if he writes more! I will read them all!

9781250759665

Chris Whitaker's We Begin at the End is exactly the kind of book we need right now in these uncertain times. Great escapism. Heart breaking at times, with a slight edge of humor. I couldn't put this down and you won't be able to either! My favorite book in a few years!! A piece of excellent literature with a slight mystery element. I cried out a few times during the last few chapters. Didn't see it coming at all!!

9780593190470

What an awesome book! Couldn't put this one down. Will definitely read his backlist. A Nazi hunter, a cult, a huge dog all wrapped up into a thriller! What more could you want!!!!

9780062570741

I will read anything by Sharon Creech! If she put out a book on bio-genetic engineering I would read it! Great book about finding your true self and what it means to be you! Can't wait to see what she comes out with next!

9780062995926

What a great follow up to A Wolf Called Wander! This time in the Salish Sea!! When an orca brother and sister are separated from their pod, they need to find their way back! While they are trying to find their way back, they help others along the way. I learned a lot about the orcas and their ecosystem in this great book! This book shows the true meaning of family and what it means to love them eternally, while finding how to be your true self!

9781250206923

I couldn't put this gritty crime novel down! This is as good if not better than Like Lions!! This is all you want in a crime novel. There is too much to write here but trust me, any crime novel lover will love this novel!!

9781250318039

This was creepier than his last one (Whisper Man). A few twists and turns and you don't know who or what is going on until the final few pages. All centered around lucid dreaming, North does a great job at creeping you out and describing haunting ideas!

9781984826787

What a read! This gnarly tale of Sasquatch is nothing you have ever read before. It shows what you will do to survive, stopping at nothing to live another day! I blew through this book in a matter of a couple days and loved every second! When Mount Rainier erupts, it forces wildlife to move down the mountain into a secluded neighborhood. After that a battle of wits ensues! Who will win? Man or beast??

9780062913463

This novel is a witty and funny one about two kids who happen to spontaneously combust when they get agitated. Don't let this funky premise turn you off though. It is quite moving. I finished it in two days, just couldn't put it down!

9781250301697

Wow, Wow, Wow!! What a debut by Alex Michaelides! This was such a page turner I was late for work a few times because I couldn't put it down. Dive into Alicia's life after she kills her husband and hasn't uttered a word since! WHOA! Such a great twist at the end too, had my jaw on the floor!! Best mystery I have read in years!!

9781250317995

This novel had me hearing whispers every time I read it! It's creepy but SO GOOD! This has everything: Copy Cat crimes, twists, turns, look over your shoulder while you read-ness! Loved it!!