And Then It's Spring by Julie Fogliano

Following a snow-filled winter, a young boy and his dog decide that they've had enough of all that brown and resolve to plant a garden. They dig, they plant, they play, they wait . . . and wait . . . until at last, the brown becomes a more hopeful shade of brown, a sign that spring may finally be on its way.

Julie Fogliano's tender story of anticipation is brought to life by the distinctive illustrations Erin E. Stead, recipient of the 2011 Caldecott Medal. This title has Common Core connections.

"And Then It's Spring "is one "The Washington Post"'s Best Kids Books of 2012.
One of "Kirkus Reviews' "Best Children's Books of 2012.

Rain! by Linda Ashman

One rainy day in the city, an eager little boy exclaims, "Rain " Across town a grumpy man grumbles, "Rain." In this endearing picture book, a rainy-day cityscape comes to life in vibrant, cut-paper-style artwork. The boy in his green frog hat splashes in puddles--"Hoppy, hoppy, hoppy "--while the old man curses the "dang puddles." Can the boy's natural exuberance (and perhaps a cookie) cheer up the grouchy gentleman and turn the day around?

Enzo Races in the Rain! by Garth Stein

New York Times bestseller Garth Stein's picture book debut about the lovable dog Enzo from The Art of Racing in the Rain is a heartwarming tale of coming home. Fans of Bad Dog, Marley by John Grogan and Charlie the Ranch Dog by Ree Drummond will delight in Enzo's unforgettable personality and funny antics.

Enzo the puppy's action-packed adventure begins when he makes the journey from the farm to the city (bark twice for faster ), discovers just how big the world is, and finds the family that was meant to be his.

Life on the farm is pretty quiet--except when he races the cars that come down the barn road. Because Enzo is fast. He knows he's different from other dogs. But people never understand Enzo when he barks, and it drives him crazy Then one day Enzo meets a little girl named Zoe and her father, Denny, and everything changes. R. W. Alley's fantastic illustrations bring the beloved Enzo to life as he learns to adapt to life in his new home and discovers just what it means to become a family.

Please reload

The Well~Read Moose :: 2048 N. Main Street, Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814 :: 208.215.2265

  • Facebook - Black Circle

© 2023 by RAFTER'S. Proudly created with Wix.com